Policy
Empty the Deleted Items folder when Outlook closes
By default, the Deleted Items folder is not emptied when users exit Outlook. By enabling this setting, you can change this behavior so that the Deleted Items folder is emptied when Outlook closes.
PackMicrosoft Office
CategoryMicrosoft Outlook 2016 / Outlook Options / Other
Policy ID
edae1f0b8e5bInternal name
L_EmptyDeletedItemsFolderRegistry
Copy registry mappings
HKCU\software\policies\microsoft\office\16.0\outlook\preferences\emptytrash (enabled) = 1
HKCU\software\policies\microsoft\office\16.0\outlook\preferences\emptytrash (disabled) = 0Policy notes
By default, the Deleted Items folder is not emptied when users exit Outlook. By enabling this setting, you can change this behavior so that the Deleted Items folder is emptied when Outlook closes.
Related policies
Admin-Controlled Migration to New OutlookDisable online mode for Get Diagnostics.Disable Outlook features in the Feedback tab under the File menu in OutlookDisable Outlook Mobile HyperlinkDisable Outlook tenant admin notificationsDisable Preview PlaceDisable support diagnostics in OutlookDisable support ticket creation in OutlookDisable the Outlook crash notification when Outlook restarts.Disable the Support tab under the File menu in OutlookDo not display the reading paneDo not download user photos from Active DirectoryHide photo linkHide the “Try the new Outlook” toggle in OutlookHide the Office Store buttonInterval between new Outlook migration attemptsMake Outlook the default program for E-mail, Contacts, and CalendarManage automatic setup of classic Outlook accounts in new OutlookManage user setting for new Outlook automatic migrationReading Pane