Policy
Don't save settings at exit
Prevents users from saving certain changes to the desktop. If you enable this setting, users can change the desktop, but some changes, such as the position of open windows or the size and position of the taskbar, are not saved when users log off. However, shortcuts placed on the desktop are always saved.
PackMicrosoft Windows
CategoryDesktop
Policy ID
910abfb2ffddInternal name
NoSaveSettingsRegistry
Copy registry mappings
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\NoSaveSettings (enabled) = 1
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\NoSaveSettings (disabled) = 0Policy notes
Prevents users from saving certain changes to the desktop. If you enable this setting, users can change the desktop, but some changes, such as the position of open windows or the size and position of the taskbar, are not saved when users log off. However, shortcuts placed on the desktop are always saved.
Related policies
Allow theme files from network locationsDo not add shares of recently opened documents to Network LocationsHide and disable all items on the desktopHide Internet Explorer icon on desktopHide Network Locations icon on desktopPrevent adding, dragging, dropping and closing the Taskbar's toolbarsProhibit adjusting desktop toolbarsProhibit User from manually redirecting Profile FoldersRemove Computer icon on the desktopRemove My Documents icon on the desktopRemove Properties from the Computer icon context menuRemove Properties from the Documents icon context menuRemove Properties from the Recycle Bin context menuRemove Recycle Bin icon from desktopRemove the Desktop Cleanup WizardTurn off Aero Shake window minimizing mouse gesture