Policy
Display confirmation dialog when deleting files
Allows you to have File Explorer display a confirmation dialog whenever a file is deleted or moved to the Recycle Bin. If you enable this setting, a confirmation dialog is displayed when a file is deleted or moved to the Recycle Bin by the user. If you disable or do not configure this setting, the default behavior of not displaying a confirmation dialog occurs.
PackMicrosoft Windows
CategoryWindows Components / File Explorer
Policy ID
87ae79484645Internal name
ConfirmFileDeleteRegistry
Copy registry mappings
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\ConfirmFileDelete (enabled) = 1
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\Explorer\ConfirmFileDelete (disabled) = 0Policy notes
Allows you to have File Explorer display a confirmation dialog whenever a file is deleted or moved to the Recycle Bin. If you enable this setting, a confirmation dialog is displayed when a file is deleted or moved to the Recycle Bin by the user. If you disable or do not configure this setting, the default behavior of not displaying a confirmation dialog occurs.
Related policies
Allow only per user or approved shell extensionsAllow the use of remote paths in file shortcut iconsConfigure Windows Defender SmartScreenDisable binding directly to IPropertySetStorage without intermediate layers.Disable Known FoldersDisplay the menu bar in File ExplorerDo not allow Folder Options to be opened from the Options button on the View tab of the ribbonDo not apply the Mark of the Web tag to files copied from insecure sourcesDo not display the Welcome Center at user logonDo not move deleted files to the Recycle BinDo not reinitialize a pre-existing roamed user profile when it is loaded on a machine for the first timeDo not request alternate credentialsDo not show the 'new application installed' notificationDo not track Shell shortcuts during roamingHide these specified drives in My ComputerHides the Manage item on the File Explorer context menuLocation where all default Library definition files for users/machines reside.Maximum allowed Recycle Bin sizeMaximum number of recent documentsNo Computers Near Me in Network Locations